I was greatly saddened to hear about the death of Michael Crichton after a “courageous and private battle” with cancer.

I still remember the first time I read one of his books (three in fact, The Andromeda Strain, Congo and The Great Train Robbery in one volume), some ten years ago, and I absolutely loved it. Of course, I was a huge fan of Jurassic Park already, but I hadn’t read the book back then.

His writing, especially with works like Timeline and Prey (and of course Jurassic Park and its sequel) had enough of science in there that he had me believing I could actually see them come to life in my lifetime.

I ended up reading at least 9 of his books, and seeing the movie adaptations of 5 of them, the most recent being The First Great Train Robbery on Hulu last Sunday evening – some reminiscence of a great storyteller lost.

